Canyon’s Ahead

"Every rock temple becomes a temple of music; every spire and pinnacle an angel of light and song, shouting color hallelujahs." Muir

Tomorrow morning I leave for the Grand Canyon! We will be heading down Kaibab Trail on Friday morning. I’m so excited that I’m at loss for words. Here are some quotes about the canyon to inflame your imagination.

“The land rose, a river cut, the entrails of the Earth came into view, time beyond human comprehension loomed up like a wall and the hand could rub and feel billions of years.”
Charles Bowden

“It seems a gigantic statement for even nature to make, all in one mighty stone word, apprehended at once like a burst of light, celestial color, its natural vesture coming in glory to mind and heart as to a home prepared for it at the very beginning. Wildness so godful, cosmic, primeval, bestows a new sense of earth’s beauty and size.” John Muir

“This is a country that leads one to think in terms of geological time, which if I am not mistaken is about the same as thinking in religious terms.” Wallace Stegner

“The most beautiful emotion we can experience is the mysterious.” Albert Einstein

2 responses to “Canyon’s Ahead

  1. What a wonderful trip to anticipate! Two years ago I went on a trip to Utah with some friends. We were planning to attend the World Science Fiction convention in Denver, and we thought it would be fun to tour some national parks on the way. We went to Zion, Bryce, Arches, and Canyonlands. I’ve always loved the national parks, but something happened to me on that trip. I decided to become a geologist. Two years later, I’m well into my classes — and they’re challenging. But my curiosity and passion for the subject has only grown.

    I will remember that trip for the rest of my life. I was 49 then, but at the end of every day I actually regretted the fact that the sun was going down. I wanted it to be morning again! I felt like a little kid at Disneyland.

    It sounds like you are an adventurer, and I wish you many happy years of exploring to come.

Leave a Reply

