Power Addiction

aloe stairway

It’s been cold in the Phoenix area this week, and snow fell as low as 2,000 feet last night! We also lost our power yesterday afternoon, at about 4 pm. It was as if the house emitted a long sigh and then everything went absolutely quiet. The silence was eerie and peaceful.

I remember when we moved into this home, and how nervous all the various humming, droning and switching on and off of appliances made me. I worried about knowing how to fix everything that might break. The water softener comes on the middle of the night and once wandering sleepless, I panicked thinking that water was spewing throughout the garage. It was just a “normal” cycle of another machine that had become indispensible to our lives.

Yesterday afternoon I’d planned to make meatballs for dinner, but instead I found my head lamp and started pulling candles from dark cupboards. There were just five matches left in the book, so I lit an old chopstick so I could get to all the wicks before the matches ran out.

The boys left to watch football on a sport’s bar screen, and I wondered what to do. How many of our leisure activities involve electrically powered devices! Without the relentless bright lights that carry us through the dusk and dark, I felt disoriented like I’d forgotten to wear my glasses. The cats paced and the dog clung to my side.

I don’t want to start on some big thing about survivalism, but gosh. How prepared are you to be without power for an extended time?

I saw a listing in the paper for a program called Kid vs. Wild at Usery Mountain Regional Park. Children ages 7-12 learn how to find their way, signal for help, build an emergency shelter and avoid desert dangers. Kids must be able to hike a mile, bring a parent, water, hat and closed toe shoes.

Maybe someone will think to offer classes on how to carry on with life without electricity. We might learn some interesting lessons along the way.

Oh, the house came back to life after just an hour of silence. One machine after another kicked in, and warm air began to flow from the vents. I turned on the lights and started making meatballs.

2 responses to “Power Addiction

  1. How true! I think of the folks that lost power for weeks during floods and other weather events….I realized what a wimp I am…glad you got the meatballs finished.

  2. good lesson in humility for all of us living our powered lives.

Leave a Reply

